December 02, Kathmandu: The government has decided to bar citizens from nine countries, including South Africa and Hong Kong, from entering Nepal

The cabinet meeting barred travelers from South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Isabatini, Mozambique, Malawi, and Hong Kong from entering those countries by transit and visiting those countries within three weeks.

According to a minister, it has been decided not to allow them to enter Nepal from 12 noon on Friday.

Currently, passengers on their way to Nepal from those countries will have to stay in the mandatory quarantine.

As new variants of coronavirus have been found in those countries, entry into Nepal has been tightened.

A minister said that it has been decided not to issue on-arrival visas to passengers coming from countries at risk of infection.

Nepal airlines